Secondary Research- Fonts

Within this blog I am going to look into fonts as a whole but more important look into which fonts are mainly used by artists in their cover albums. The reason for me looking into these is so that when I am deciding on all of my ideas I can relate to this blog for the ideas but also help me within my planning stages when explaining what I want to do within the album concept.

This link below looks into a different range of fonts that is used across many different genres. The font that I am mainly looking for is one that is simple and easier to read which is how four of the official albums writing has been. The examples below shows that of font style “montecatini” but more important allows me to look into how its used on album covers. The two that stood out for this is the rap/hip-hop artist “Macklemore” and how two main fonts are the subject but also how readable in which the fonts are.

Screenshot (366)Screenshot (367)

Following the other example in the above screenshot I decided to look into the harbour styled font. Like the other font talked about above, this one is just as readable. This is what I am mainly looking to use within the album concept as it is very important that those viewing the work are able to read everything that is included within the concept. This being an other option to be used within this album concept.

Screenshot (368)Screenshot (369)

Looking into this website more this other font “Gothic” would be a good suit too because it is simple but the text would also be thick enough but also matching the NF logo in the way of thickness. The examples given in the other screenshot shows this further but also gives a better understanding how it would look with white on black as this is similar to what I want to do within my concept.

Screenshot (370)Screenshot (371)

Leonhartsberger, M. (2019). Album Covers. [online] Fonts in Use. Available at: https://fontsinuse.com/sets/6801/album-covers-3?page=1 [Accessed 28 Dec. 2019].

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started